Weather Gadgets

Reviews

June 23, 2008

Review: Honeywell Atomic Projection Clock with Indoor Temperature

PCR201Wsml.jpg

There's so many options when it comes to alarm clocks, but after a few weeks of use we think the Honeywell Atomic Projection Clock with indoor temperature is the only option for the Weather Snob. At night you can see the time projected on your ceiling, wall, or wherever you want to have it, and the PCR201W Atomic Projection Clock has a large time display which is easy to see by itself.

We found the setting of the time atomically to just work, and the indoor thermometer was very accurate. The display also features Moon Phases (8), has an amber backlight. Okay - so what about the alarm clock? It has a dual crescendo alarm with 5-minute snooze that got us going each morning.

We really like the Honeywell PCR201W Atomic Projection Clock with Temperature, and we think for the indoor alarm and temperature enthusiast you can't do any better.

At Honeywell and Honeywell PCR201W Atomic Projection Clock with Temperature

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Check Out This Week's Wind & Weather Deal of the Week

June 20, 2008

Review: Oregon Scientific WMR200 Professional Weather Station

31l2+-4yDxL._SS400_.jpg

We've had the Oregon Scientific WMR200 Professional Weather Station for just about a year now, and can safely say it's a really amazing weather station. Setup and maintence has been a breeze, and we've found the data it's provided to us on rainfall, wind, and general weather trends to be both accurate, and interesting.

IMG_5121.jpg
It might look daunting, but setup requires only about an
hour of your time. Once it's setup, it's also very easy to move
around your yard and try new locations.

Detailed features include:

  • Displays Weather Forecast icons--Sunny, Partly Cloudy, Cloudy, Rainy or Snow
  • Displays current moon phase
  • Indoor and outdoor (up to 10 wireless sensors) temperature and humidity measurements
  • Measures temperature, humidity, wind chill, wind speed, wind direction, UV index (optional), barometric pressure and rainfall
  • Displays dew point, wind chill and heat index readings
  • Weather alert alarms for temperature, heat index, humidity, dew point, gust wind and rainfall rate
  • Automatically sets itself to the U.S. Atomic Clock
  • Includes 5-language software--English, Dutch, Italy, Spanish and French to store and view weather data on your PC via USB download
  • On-board Data Logger Function stores data with a time stamp
  • Long range transmission of 300 feet (100 meters) at 433MHz between the main unit and remote sensors
  • Main console features touch-screen controls and EL backlight
  • Installation kit allows for multiple mounting options (includes 6 foot mounting pole)
  • Low battery indicator icons for both main units and wireless sensors
  • Operating temperature range: -50°C to +70°C (-58°F to 158°F)
  • Includes 6V DC AC adapter for main unit and batteries for wireless sensors
  • Includes 6 foot usb cable
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Oregon Scientific WMR200 Professional Weather Station"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 30, 2008

Review: Honeywell WeatherTime In-Out-Thermometer and Alarm Clock

IMG_6087.jpg
You get a wireless sensor and the main unit.

We've been using the TE103NL Honeywell WeatherTime In-Out-Thermometer and Alarm Clock over the past week here at Weather Snob and really like this compact unit. It's easy to carry around the house where you want to see the temperature, and has a bunch of simple easy to use features.

The TE103NL features:

  • Quartz clock with digital readout
  • Dual weekday/weekend and pre alarm with snooze
  • Calendar clock with day of the week and seconds
  • 12 or 24 hour time format
  • Indoor and outdoor temperature
  • Programmable temperature alarm
  • Programmable ice alarm warning
  • Outdoor temperature range:
  • Min/Max memory for temperature
  • Remote sensor (TS03) included- Reception range of up to 100 feet (30 meters)
  • Enhanced digital display with push buttons
  • Table top or wall mount option

Set up was easy. We simply installed the battery in the sensor unit, and then the batteries in the main unit. Setting up the clock was also simple - just hold the mode button and you walk through all the options.

IMG_6089.jpg
Put the sensor unit somewhere in the shade. Direct
sun will give you false readings.

IMG_6090.jpg
Clock, date, and temperature. Perfect for any Weather Snob.

Overall - the unit has a very large display for its size, and we found ourselves able to read it across the room. The overall temperature readings and performance when put up against our Lacrosse Thermometer - both dead on.

This is a great product, and a perfect gift for Father's Day.

At HoneyWell

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 15, 2007

Review: Handheld Weather Forecaster with Alarm Clock from Oregon Scientific

We've been using this personal weather forecaster around the house, and on various motorcycle rides throughout New England this Fall. In a nut shell - the unit is roughly the size of a cell phone, and provides a 12 to 24 hour forecast and local temperature and humidity readings. The forecaster also doubles as a travel alarm clock with a crescendo alarm and snooze function, and has a belt clip for trekking around.

pictures/
The Oregon Scientific EB313HG Handheld Weather Forecaster with Alarm Clock

One of the various uses we've found around the house is to get a humidity and temperature reading wherever we put it. Just yesterday we used it to find several drafty spots in our basement that needed caulking. On our motorcycle trips, we used it to see if the pressure was trending down and if rain was on its way. Overall, we think this is a very cool - very small - personal weather monitor for where you are at any time.

  • Displays 12 to 24 hour weather forecast with animated icons
  • Displays temperature and humidity
  • Minimum and maximum temperature and humidity memories
  • Digital clock and calendar with crescendo alarm and snooze function
  • Moon phase indicator
  • Severe weather alert indicator
  • Barometric pressure trend indicator
  • Belt clip rotates to serve as a table stand
  • Illuminated with HiGlo™ electro-luminescent backlight
  • Operating temperature range: -4.0°F to +144.0 °F (-20.0°C to +60.0°C)
  • Batteries included: 2 CR2032 watch batteries
  • Dimensions: 2.25L x .5D x 3.5H (in.)

At Oregon Scientific and Oregon Scientific EB313HG Handheld Weather Forecaster with Alarm Clock

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2007

First Impressions: Oregon Scientific WMR200 Professional Weather Station

So far we've really been impressed with the Oregon Scientific WMR200 Professional Weather Station. The interface for the touch screen weather data is really quite well done - easy to read - and easy to navigate. The set up of the weather station was also pretty straightforward - it took about 45 minute to deploy all the sensors and set them up in our back yard. We'll have more details as we test, but so far so good.

At Oregon Scientific and Oregon Scientific WMR200 Professional Weather Station

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

October 24, 2007

Oregon Scientific WeatherNow II Home Weather Forecaster Arrives for Review

Img 5057-1

We're pretty excited to have our first Oregon Scientic product in the WeatherSnob Weather Shack to review. The Oregon Scientific WMS802 WeatherNow II with MSN Direct Service simply plugs in, and you're done! No sensors, no set up, no hassles. This weather station uses the MSN Direct service to receive regional weather information without the use of any outdoor sensors. Users can get real-time, 4-day weather forecast information, including the chance of precipitation. They can also receive current regional weather data, including temperature, humidity, UV Index and a unique “feels like” temperature reading that combines temperature and humidity into one easy reading. A radio-controlled clock/calendar also displays today’s sunrise and sunset information, all within a sleek blue case.

We'll have a full review soon.

At Oregon Scientific and Oregon Scientific WMS802 WeatherNow II with MSN Direct Service

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 16, 2007

Review: Honeywell TN924W Complete Wireless Home Weather Station

Tn924W Vert

We just finished over a month of testing on the Honeywell TN924W Complete Wireless Home Weather Station. The last month has also been a really great month to test the various features of the Honeywell TN924W Complete Wireless Home Weather Station. We've had thunderstorms, winds, rain, hot days, wet days, and other crazy weird weather. How did the Honeywell TN924W Complete Wireless Home Weather Station hold up? Is it worth the nearly $300 you'll spend to have your own wireless home weather station you can hook up to your PC and other neat features?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Honeywell TN924W Complete Wireless Home Weather Station"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

June 25, 2007

Review: La Crosse Technology WS-7049U Mahogany Wireless Weather Station with Remote Temperature Sensor

Lacrosse Technology Mahogany Weather Stationzcv-Standard

We recently picked up the La Crosse Technology WS-7049U Mahogany Wireless Weather Station with Remote Temperature Sensor from a deal on Woot.com. This wireless home weather station is going to run you $49ish without the $20 deal at WOOT! and after spending nearly 3 weeks of testing we think the $49 may be worth it. We've read our fair share of "not so great reviews" on the La Crosse Technology WS-7049U, but after comparison to several other weather stations we are testing like the Honeywell Wireless Personal Weather Station and the Ambient Weather Forecaster, we can conclude the WS-7049U does a good job for the money.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: La Crosse Technology WS-7049U Mahogany Wireless Weather Station with Remote Temperature Sensor"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking


Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS
Recent Comments
Wilda: Where can I find the snow globe entitled , The read more
Bruce: I have the steripen! I love it, only thing is read more
Lisa: There are so many new and different styles today which read more
james braselton: hi there i have 2 versions from sky scan and read more
zeran: Use the link on my name and you will get read more

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

EcoPire

Storm Photos
www.flickr.com
More Flickr photos tagged with storms
This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.3.6
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy